What are the pillars of Islam?

The five pillars of Islam are the fundamental practices that every Muslim must follow. The first pillar is Shahadah, which is the declaration of faith in Allah and Prophet Muhammad. The second pillar is Salah, referring to the obligatory prayers performed five times a day. The third pillar is Zakah, meaning giving alms or charity. 

The fourth pillar is Sawm, or fasting during Ramadan for the entire month as an act of devotion and self-discipline. Finally, Hajj, or pilgrimage to Makkah at least once in a lifetime, during the Islamic month of Dhul-Hijjah stands as the fifth pillar. 

These pillars represent essential tenets that guide Muslims in their relationship with Allah (Glorified be He), people, and all of creation.